Zoho Books Refund Policy Deadlines and What Zoho Leaves Undefined

Zoho Books refund policy decision flow showing full refund, subscription credit, or no refund

As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s refund policy offers a full refund if you are dissatisfied within the first month of a monthly plan or the first 45 days of an annual plan, after Zoho tries to fix the problem; the account then drops to the Free plan. After an auto-renewal, the windows are five business days (monthly) and 15 days (annual). Neither policy page says when the count starts.

Which Zoho Books refund do you mean?

Two refunds share one name, and only one comes from Zoho.

A refund from Zoho for your subscription

This page covers money back on your own Zoho Books subscription. As of 10 October 2026, neither policy page names Zoho Books or an edition.

A refund to your own customer in Zoho Books

Refunding a customer runs through credit notes; see Zoho’s guide to refunding a customer.

Which edition this applies to

As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s US and global pricing pages list different prices, so the example below uses the US edition.

Zoho Books refund windows: monthly, annual and renewal

Zoho Books refund windows compared for monthly plans, annual plans, monthly renewals, and annual renewals
Zoho Books refund deadlines differ for new monthly plans, annual plans, and auto-renewals.

As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s refund policy and Zoho’s refund policy page on zoho.com set the same windows, and neither shows an effective date.

Monthly plans: the first month

Zoho first tries to resolve the problem; if you are still unhappy, it issues a full refund and moves you to the Free plan.

Annual plans: the first 45 days

The same sequence applies.

After an auto-renewal: 5 business days or 15 days

As of 10 October 2026, both pages allow a full refund up to five business days after a monthly renewal or 15 days after an annual one, and none later, pro-rated included.

Two Zoho pages, one set of windows

RuleHelp-center versionzoho.com version
MonthlyFirst month, 10 Oct 2026First month, 10 Oct 2026
AnnualFirst 45 days, 10 Oct 2026First 45 days, 10 Oct 2026
After renewalFive business days monthly, fifteen days annual, 10 Oct 2026Five business days monthly, 15 days annual, 10 Oct 2026

What a Zoho refund covers and what it leaves out

Zoho Books refund coverage showing full cash refund, subscription credit, and no-refund situations
A Zoho Books refund may be cash, subscription credit, or unavailable depending on the situation.

Zoho’s policy, read 10 October 2026, pays cash, credit or nothing.

Full refund and the move to the Free plan

A refund inside a window is full and moves you to the Free plan, whose caps are in Zoho Books Free plan limits.

Partial downgrades pay credit, not cash

As of 10 October 2026, a partial downgrade earns credit, not cash: total paid minus (monthly list price ร— months used), discounts excluded, as a subscription extension. Fewer licences, a lower edition or support plan, or a removed add-on all count.

Pro-rated refunds for lost functionality

Zoho offers a pro-rated refund if it removes or breaks signup-era functionality and does not fix it in time or provide a workaround.

When no refund is issued

No refund, full or pro-rated, applies where Zoho terminates, suspends or blocks an account for Terms of Service violations.

What Zoho’s refund pages don’t say

As of 10 October 2026, five questions about the refund window stay open.

When the 45 days and the first month start

Gap 1: neither page says what starts the 45 days or the first month; no payment or sign-up date is named (10 Oct 2026).

“First month” or 30 days?

Gap 2: both pages say “first month” and also mention 30 days for monthly plans, without saying which governs (10 Oct 2026).

What “purchase”, the trial and payout leave open

GapWhat both pages leave undefined, read 10 Oct 2026
3. Trial daysZoho’s Books sign-up page shows a 14-day trial, “*No credit card required” (10 Oct 2026); whether trial days count is not stated.
4. Purchase and payoutAdd-ons, refund method, processing time and reply time are not stated (10 Oct 2026).
5. Cancelling vs askingWhether cancelling counts as a refund request is not stated (10 Oct 2026).

Trial terms sit in our Zoho Books free trial article.

A Zoho Books refund timeline, worked through

Count it both ways, because Zoho does not define the first day.

An example purchase on 1 January 2027

Hypothetical dates, calculated by us from the windows read on 10 October 2026. Business days are assumed Monday to Friday, no holidays.

Example (hypothetical)Start day = day 1Start day = day 0
Annual bought Fri 1 Jan 2027, 45 daysSun 14 Feb 2027Mon 15 Feb 2027
Monthly renewed Mon 1 Feb 2027, five business daysFri 5 Feb 2027Mon 8 Feb 2027
Annual renewed Sat 1 Jan 2028, 15 daysSat 15 Jan 2028Sun 16 Jan 2028

A partial downgrade after two months

As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s US Books pricing page lists Standard at $20 per organization per month, or $15 per month billed annually, before local taxes. Zoho does not state the annual charge, so assume 12 ร— $15 = $180 paid upfront; after two months, $180 โˆ’ ($20 ร— 2) = $140 credit by our calculation, not cash. Other plans: Zoho Books pricing by plan.

๐Ÿ—“๏ธ Pricing verified 10 October 2026. Confirm on the vendor’s site before purchasing.

How to ask Zoho for a refund

Both pages route a refund through contacting Zoho.

Write to Zoho inside the window

โœ… Do This: Email payments@zohocorp.com, the address both pages give for refund questions, before the earlier deadline above. Keep the dated reply; the pages state no response time (read 10 October 2026).

Cancelling and the 120-day deletion rule

๐Ÿ›Ÿ Back This Up First: Export or back up your organization’s data before you cancel. As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s cancel page links export guides but does not list what can be exported.

Per Zoho’s page on data after cancelling, data stays view-only after you cancel, and an account inactive for more than 120 days is permanently deleted (read 10 October 2026). Log in at least every 120 days to keep it. Steps are in Zoho’s cancel and downgrade steps and how to cancel Zoho Books and what happens to your data.

If the window has passed

As of 10 October 2026, beyond the windows the pages describe only the lost-functionality and partial-downgrade cases above.

๐Ÿงพ Not Tested: We have not requested a refund, so response times, payout method and real-world handling are unconfirmed. Policy wording was read on Zoho’s public pages on 10 October 2026.

Zoho Books refund FAQ

1. What is the Zoho Books refund policy?

As of 10 October 2026, Zoho’s refund policy gives a full refund in the first month or 45 days if its fix fails.

2. How long do I have for a Zoho Books annual refund?

Zoho’s annual refund window is the first 45 days (read 10 October 2026); neither page says what starts the count.

3. How long do I have for a Zoho Books monthly refund?

Zoho’s monthly refund window is the first month (read 10 October 2026); the pages also mention 30 days and do not reconcile the two.

4. Can I get a Zoho Books refund after auto-renewal?

As of 10 October 2026: five business days after a monthly renewal, 15 days after an annual one, none later.

5. Is a Zoho Books refund cash or credit?

Inside the windows, a full refund; for a partial downgrade, credit (read 10 October 2026). No refund method is named.

6. Does cancelling Zoho Books give a refund?

Cancelling leaves your data view-only. As of 10 October 2026, neither page says whether it counts as a refund request.

7. Does the Zoho Books free trial need a credit card?

Zoho’s US sign-up page, read 10 October 2026, shows a 14-day trial marked “*No credit card required”.

8. Who do I email for a Zoho Books refund?

Email payments@zohocorp.com, which both Zoho pages give for refund questions (read 10 October 2026).

Your next step with Zoho’s refund policy

Inside a window, write to Zoho before the earlier deadline; if the pages leave your case undefined, ask in writing. If you stay, what Zoho Books costs past the Free plan prices your whole team.

Similar Posts