What Differs in the Zoho Books Mobile App Compared With Web

Zoho Books Mobile app versus web version vector illustration showing a smartphone accounting dashboard connected to a desktop accounting workspace

On 14 October 2026, eight Zoho pages and two Zoho app-store listings were read for this comparison. One says the Zoho Books mobile app cannot edit templates and calls the app a supplement to the web application. None publishes a feature-parity table, so every other difference below is labelled documented or unstated. Nobody here has used Zoho Books.

Is the Zoho Books app the same as the web version?

Zoho’s own FAQ calls the Zoho Books app “a supplement to the web-based Zoho Books application” and says an existing account uses it “for no additional cost” (Zoho’s mobile app FAQ, read 14 October 2026).

What Zoho says the app supports

The same FAQ lists time tracking, multiple currencies, and recurring transactions.

Which apps this covers

This covers the iOS and Android apps only. Prices and limits are in the pillar on Zoho Books pricing and the extra costs past the free plan. “Documented” means a Zoho page says it; “unstated” means no page read does.

Can you edit templates in the Zoho Books mobile app?

Zoho Books Mobile app template editing limitation vector illustration showing invoice template selection on a phone and detailed template editing on a desktop
Choose an invoice template in Zoho Books Mobile, then make detailed template edits in the web version.

No. Zoho’s mobile FAQ, read 14 October 2026, says template editing is not possible in the app at present; you pick a template from the gallery and edit it on web.

What the FAQ does not date

The FAQ shows no date, and the redesigned Zoho mobile apps page has no template FAQ.

The gap list so far

FeatureOn the appLabelSource
Template editingNo; gallery pickDocumentedZoho FAQ, 14 Oct 2026
Add bank account (US, Canada)YesDocumentedZoho post, undated
e-way billiOS, Indian EditionDocumentedZoho post, undated
Report countPages differDiffersPlans section
Other web featuresNot statedUnstatedNo parity list read

Can you add a bank account in the Zoho Books app?

Zoho Books Mobile app add bank account vector illustration showing a person connecting a bank account to a cloud accounting app from a smartphone
Zoho Books Mobile can be used to add and connect a bank account, depending on regional availability.

Yes, in the US and Canada, per a Zoho Community post with no date shown (read 14 October 2026). It lists iOS and Android, offers Plaid or manual entry, and says there is no need to switch to the web app.

Zoho’s steps, in its wording

  1. In the Zoho Books iOS app, tap “More”, then “Banking”.
  2. Tap “+” at the bottom-left.
  3. Choose “Connect Now” for Plaid, or “Add Bank Account Manually”.
  4. For Plaid, read the terms, pick your bank, log in, verify, select accounts, confirm.

What the post leaves out

Its steps name the iOS app, so the Android path is unstated, and it names no plan requirement. Plan gating is in Zoho Books integrations by plan.

Is the Zoho Books app the same on iOS and Android?

No. Zoho’s mobile apps page, read 14 October 2026, lists different features for each platform.

PlatformFeatures Zoho lists
iOSApple Intelligence reports, voice invoicing, Siri, widgets, Apple Watch
AndroidInstant notifications, passcode lock, scan and extract, wrist updates

A Zoho Community post names iOS alone for Quick Create customizing and theme choice (undated).

Version and OS notes

Read on 14 October 2026: the App Store listing shows version 5.2.8, “Oct 1” (year not shown), and iOS 16.0 or later; the Google Play listing says “Updated on Sep 23, 2026” with no minimum Android version; Zoho’s release notes date web updates, topped by 24 September 2026.

The e-way bill (India edition)

A Zoho Community post limits the e-way bill module to Indian Edition organisations on iOS; it is undated. That is Zoho’s availability statement, not tax guidance.

Does your Zoho Books plan change what the app does?

Neither Zoho’s pricing page nor its plan comparison page attaches a plan requirement to the app, both read 14 October 2026; the comparison table has no mobile row.

Two report counts

On 14 October 2026 the pricing page put “50+ Reports” on the Free plan card, and the mobile apps page repeated 50+ under its iOS view; the Google Play listing said “70+ detailed reports”. Zoho does not reconcile the counts.

What is not stated

No page read says whether any app feature depends on plan.

Can your accountant and team use the Zoho Books app?

Zoho’s listings say so in general terms; no page read details what they can do in the app.

What the listings say

Read on 14 October 2026, Google Play lists “inviting team members and accountants, and assigning specific roles”. The App Store says your accountant is “never far away”. The plan table’s “Invite accountant” row is marked yes on all six plans, with no platform marking.

The “no limitations” claim

The App Store claims “absolutely no limitations on the number of transactions or users”, while Zoho’s pricing page lists user limits per plan. For the counts, see Zoho Books cost per user. Whether invitations or roles can be set from the app is unstated.

🧾 Not Tested: Nobody here has installed either app or opened a Zoho Books account. Everything above is documented, not experienced.

Zoho Books mobile app questions answered

1. Is the Zoho Books mobile app free?

Zoho’s FAQ says an existing account uses the Zoho Books app at no extra cost (14 October 2026). Its plan pages attach no mobile requirement.

2. Can you edit templates in the Zoho Books app?

No. Zoho’s FAQ, read 14 October 2026, says the app cannot edit templates; choose one from the gallery, then edit on web.

3. Can you add a bank account in the Zoho Books app?

Yes, for the US and Canada, per an undated Zoho post: Plaid or manual entry, on iOS and Android.

4. Does the Zoho Books app work on iPhone and Android?

Yes. Zoho lists both, with different feature lists; minimum-OS details sit in the iOS and Android section.

5. Is the e-way bill in the Zoho Books mobile app?

Only for Indian Edition organisations; Zoho’s undated post names iOS as the supported system for that module.

6. Does the Zoho Books app support multiple currencies?

Yes. Zoho’s FAQ, read 14 October 2026, says the Zoho Books app supports multiple currencies and recurring transactions.

7. How many reports does the Zoho Books app offer?

Zoho’s pages disagree (read 14 October 2026); both figures appear in the plans section above.

8. Can my accountant use the Zoho Books app?

Zoho’s listings mention accountant access, but no page read says whether invitations can be sent from the app.

Zoho Books mobile app: what to keep on web

Treat the Zoho Books mobile app as Zoho describes it: a supplement to web. Keep template edits on web, and treat each “unstated” row as unknown. Before relying on the app for a task, try it on a trial; what the Zoho Books trial includes is covered separately.

Similar Posts